Skip to content

Why are there multiple activation emails for one user?

What is an activation email?

An activation email is sent whenever a new user logs in with the email login widget in order to confirm that the email address belongs to them.

What if a user does not activate their email address?

In case the button within the activation email is not clicked, the email address will be placed in the Unverified Users section of the User Data tab in the Dashboard. It will automatically be moved to the Verified Users section once the verification is complete. You can view all User data at once using the All Users section. We separate verified and unverified users by default, as the quality of unverified data is usually lower than that of verified data.

Using Unverified user data for marketing purposes is disabled by default in the Dashboard. If you wish to enable it, you can follow this guide.

How does a user end up with multiple activation emails?

Until the button in the activation email is clicked, the user will have to manually put in the email address on every connection to the network. Every time they do, a new activation email will be sent.

This is because Unverified users will not be able to make use of the Autologin function (enabled by default, can be turned off in the Features section in the Settings tab), which allows returning users to skip the login process as we’ve already captured their data. If a user deleted the original verification email, they wouldn’t be able to use that email address for autologin unless the message was sent again.